Madrid, 25 October 2019

Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A. and CPL CONCORDIA, 2G Energy AG, Luca Guenzi from Solar Turbines Switzerland, as well as Nicolás Pérez de la Mora, Josep Sánchez Llibre and Michael Brown,  were honoured by the European cogeneration sector, following the decision of a selected Jury,  for their contribution to the cogeneration sector through outstanding performance and achievement. The 2019 COGEN Europe Recognition Awards Ceremony took place on Thursday, 24th October in Madrid (Spain), organised in collaboration with COGEN Spain and ACOGEN. The winners received the awards from COGEN Europe’s Managing Director Hans Korteweg and former Member of the European Parliament José Blanco López (Socialists & Democrats, Spain).

Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A. and CPL CONCORDIA won the Market Development Award for Organisations for the revolutionary project realised within Lamborghini’s production site, combining the flexibility of a next-gen trigeneration plant with the renewable character of a biomass district heating system. Ranieri Niccoli, Chief Manufacturing Officer of Automobili Lamborghini commented: “Environmental commitment is an integral part of our strategy and we subscribe to a strong undertaking of environmental responsibility towards our stakeholders and the area where the company operates. We are very proud to have obtained this important recognition for our trigeneration plant and district heating as they contributed to achieve the CO2 neutral certification in 2015, as the first company in the world, through the DNV GL ‘Carbon Neutrality’ program”. In the words of Pierluigi Capelli, General Manager of CPL CONCORDIA: “COGEN Europe’s recognition, by awarding an ambitious and prestigious project achieved thanks to the synergy between leader companies of the Emilian territory, adds value to the over 30 years of activity of CPL CONCORDIA in the development of cogeneration, and makes us particularly proud”.

Luca Guenzi from Solar Turbines Switzerland was assigned the Market Development Award for individuals for his relentless commitment in advocating for grid codes regulations which properly account for the key role of cogeneration within the power generation sector.

The 2019 Technology & Innovation Award went to 2G Energy AG for having developed a hydrogen-driven CHP plant solution. 2G Energy AG is convinced that hydrogen (H2) produced by renewable energy will play a key role in the future. The company is committed to contribute to a sustainable, safe, environmentally friendly and affordable energy supply, which will be characterised by distributed structures.

Nicolás Pérez de la Mora was recognised with the first edition of the Young CHP Leader Award for his continuous efforts and commitment towards CHP, both in his academic path and working career and for succeeding in overcoming the challenge of making R&D solutions real by integrating them into existing power plants projects.

The winner of the one-time-only Spain National Award is Josep Sánchez Llibre, for his key contribution to the development of CHP industry in Spain and its proactive promotion of the sector both in his former role as a Member of the Spanish Congress of Deputies and as current President of Foment del Treball (the Catalan industry federation).

Last but not least, Michael Brown won the special Lifetime Achievement Award for his instrumental role for COGEN Europe as co-founder of the Association and for his career-long commitment towards the increased visibility of CHP in the United Kingdom and the rest of Europe.

More information on the COGEN Europe Recognition Awards Ceremony and the pictures of the event will soon be available on the website of the joint COGEN Europe, COGEN Spain and ACOGEN Annual Conference Cogeneration: Efficient and Clean Heat and Power for Europe’s Sustainable Energy Future.



Sign Up

Stay up to date by signing up to COGEN Europe’s latest news, blogs and events.

By ticking this box, you are confirming to subscribe to our newsletter.

COGEN Europe are supporters of: